The Central Shenandoah Health District has been overwhelmed with calls regarding COVID-19.  They are unable to provide test results.


If you have any other questions regarding your loved one, please call:



Instead of the local office. Thank you!

COVID-19 Testing Update 01-11-2021


Middle River Regional Jail is a secure adult detention facility that operates under the Virginia Department of Corrections Minimum Standards for Jails and Lockups. Built in 2006 on a 28 acre site, the facility has a 902 bed capacity and is approximately 212,020 sq. ft.

Middle River Regional Jail serves a population of over 250,000. The facility offers assistance to hearing impaired individuals upon request and based on needs.

Proudly serving Staunton, Waynesboro, Harrisonburg, and the counties of Augusta, Highland, and Rockingham.

NOTE: Both the facility and the grounds surrounding it are tobacco free. 

Please do not bring any tobacco products onto the property or into the facility.





Timothy Fitzgerald, Augusta County Administrator 

Jennifer Whetzel, Assistant Augusta County Administrator

Donald Smith, Augusta County Sheriff


Eric Campbell, Harrisonburg City Manager

Larry Propst, Harrisonburg City Finance Director

Gabriel Camacho, Harrisonburg Interim Chief of Police


Stephen King, Rockingham County Administrator - Chairman

Patricia Davidson, Rockingham County Finance Director

Bryan Hutcheson, Rockingham County Sheriff


Steve Rosenberg, Staunton City Manager - Vice Chairman

Phillip Trayer, Staunton City Finance Director

Matthew Robertson, Staunton City Sheriff


Michael G. Hamp, Waynesboro City Manager

Cameron McCormick , Waynesboro Finance Director

Joe Harris, Waynesboro City Sheriff


The Middle River Regional Jail Authority Board meets on the first Tuesday of each month.

All meetings will be held at the Augusta County Government Center in the South Board Room at 2:00pm.

2021 Meeting Dates are as follows:

January 7th (Work Session)     2:00 p.m. (Electronically Held)

Please use this meeting link.  Public will only be allowed to view, not participate.

January 22nd (Finance)       2:00 p.m. (TBD)

February 2nd                        2:00 p.m.

April 6th                                 2:00 p.m.

June 1st                                  2:00 p.m. 

August 3rd                             2:00 p.m.

October 5th                           2:00 p.m.

December 7th                       2:00 p.m.

Prior Meeting Minutes: Click Here




For any general inquiries, please fill in the following contact form:





Middle River Regional Jail

350 Technology Drive
Staunton, Virginia 24401


Point of Contact During Business Hours: Tina Reed

Tel:  (540)245-5420  ext. 1242

Point of Contact After Business Hours: Watch Commander

Tel:  (540)245-5420  ext. 1150


Staunton | Waynesboro | Harrisonburg | Augusta County | Rockingham County

350 Technology Drive | Staunton, Virginia 24401 | (540) 245-5420
© 2020 The Middle River Regional Jail. This website maintained by MRRJ. Inquiries may be sent to the webmaster here.